Using Obsidian with Cryptomator on Android

Hello,
I’m fairly new to Cryptomator, and very new to Cryptometer Android (just took advantage of last week’s price offer), so apologies if these questions are a bit basic - haven’t quite worked out how everything works :slight_smile:
I’ve only just started using Obsidian on my PC, and was wondering if anyone has got this working using Cryptometer Android? Or will this require the upcoming Document Provider feature?
Would be great to have a secure sync to my Android mobile as well.
Thanks.
Shaun.

I am not using Obsidian, but from what I read (plain text file based) my answer would be: yes. You’ll need the document provider to get this to work with cryptomator android.

Thanks Michael.

Saves me having to do too much further researching.

I was also looking at at another app i use called todo.txt which saves down to text files also and will have a similar problem.

How do most people use it without this functionality? Just for viewing text files, or pictures without doing any editing?

Anyone have any workflow tips?

Not sure if the android version of the app will be of that much use to me really currently.
I suppose, at least I will have it for future use, when the extra features are implemented.

You use the android app by sharing files from the vault to the app you want to work with. After your done you share the file back to the vault
Some files like textfiles can be viewed/edited directly in cryptomator, some can only be viewed (pictures for example).

Oh, i see, so you are editing the file in memory then share without saving? So the file doesn’t get saved down to the native file system unencrypted…

I opened a text file in a notepad app, and clicked the "always open with " option and don’t see a way of reverting and opening with another app now…

I guess it will be saved local and unencrypted as soon as you share the file with an app. But you decide if this is permanent or temporary.