My thoughts/concerns so far

I am new to Cryptomator but after a few days of use, here are a few thoughts I have. I am hoping the community can either confirm my experiences or set me straight if I am wrong in some way (or there are some tricks to improve things). Note that my previous experience is using Boxcryptor Classic and VeraCrypt. The former has been great but is no longer supported and Veracrypt has also been great but isn’t ideally suited for what Boxcryptor/Cryptomator do for cloud services.

1. Cryptomator is painfully slow. I first noticed this when copying files to and from vaults. Then, I REALLY noticed it when I tried to use XAMPP and access my website files from a Cryptomator vault. It was pretty much useless. Previously, I kept those files in a VeraCrypt volume and didn’t suffer a similar slowness. I can even notice slowness with MS Word if using a large (100+ pages) document.

2. The Boxcryptor app (Android at least) lets me actually edit files but the Cryptomator app requires me to do a dance by making an edited copy and using it to replace the original.

3. This is a small thing, but every time I try to lock a vault I get a “Do you want to force locking?” warning message. With VeraCrypt I get a warning message when I try to dismount only if a program is actively locked to the vault.

Any thoughts / suggestions?