How to get shorter file pathes

Hi Support,

I’m new to cryptomator and moved here from Boxcryptor, running Win10. I got everything setup allright except one minor problem:

I choose WebDav when installing and in the Windows Explorer I got this real long cryptomator drive name, something like:
cryptomator-vault:4xxxx7/Uvxxxxxxxrld

In the Explorer I already shortend that drive name to „MichaCrypto (Y:)“ and in some places a file path now will be shown as expected: Y:\Heidelberg\Verwaltung

But in others, namely Office 365, it will show as :
http://cryptomator-vault:4xxxx7/Uvxxxxxxxrld/MichaCrypto/Heidelberg/Verwaltung

Is there any way to get a consistant file path just using the drive letter (Y:) as in Y:\Heidelberg\Verwaltung ??

Thanks for your help, Michael

Hi.

I recommend using WinSFP (FUSE) instead of Webdav.
Webdav has some issues you might want to avoid.
Furthermore FUSE does show up as a drive letter.
If you want to have always the same drive letter for your vault, you can configure this in the vault settings.

If you want to stick with WebDAV, I am not aware of anything that let you change the appearance in explorer.

Hi Michael,
Thanks for your superfast reply. Folloing your suggestion I searched the forum for something like “how to change an existing installation from WebDAV to WinSFP (FUSE)” - but could not really find anything. Do you know about any info on how to change?
Thanks, michael (too)

Here we go: WinFSP: How to use it

Hi Michael,
Thanks for the link about how to change to WinSFP (FUSE). It worked out nicely but I would suggest to add two more points to the helpfile:

1. After changing from WebDAV to Fuse you have to restart your computer to make the altered path show up in the explorer.
  2. At least in my case I dont see nomore place to change the drive letter like in WebDAV. After the change it just stayed with (Y:) like in WebDAV which is fine for me but not really what the manual said ?
    Anyway thanks a lot, Michael