Cryptomator Performance: What to expect?

First of all, this is not supposed to be a criticism. I am aware encryption costs performance. I just want to know whether the performance I experience is the one to be expected.

My setup: I use Windows 10 Pro. I have a lot of files (120 GB with roughly 337.000 files in 33.000 directories). I want to use Cryptomator to encrypt the data before uploading to an OwnCloud server. Regarding Cryptomator, I use version 1.4.2 with Dokany. I have no previous experience with earlier versions of Cryptomator nor with WebDAV access. If I understood correctly, Dokany is more suitable for this purpose than WebDAV.

It took me some time to encrypt all files and specially to upload the Cryptomator vault to the OwnCloud server. But this is something you do once. The everyday job is the daily syncing of several hundreds files with several hundred MB, so nothing big. To do that, I compare and read all files on source and destination:
Comparing SSD and USB 3.0 flash drive: 1 min 30 sec
Comparing SSD and Home-NAS across 1 GBit network: 3 min
Comparing SSD and Cryptomator vault on the same SSD disk: 15 min

Cryptomator is perfectly usable and I do not have any CPU issues as described here, but comparing files in the Cryptomator vault is roughly 10 times slower than comparing them to a USB 3.0 flash drive.

Is this to be expected? Is encrypting so costly in performance terms? Or can/will performance be optimized? overheadhunter writes here about “the potential performance it can have if it is fully optimized” and in the roadmap for 2019 it says: “We have successfully moved to FUSE (Linux and macOS) and Dokany (Windows). Now it is time to improve the file systems.”

I would be very grateful if the developers could briefly say what to expect and thank you again for developing Cryptomator and for making it OSS - this is the best way to generate trust in your source.

Many thanks!

1 Like