Cannot open files in Android App ("Ein Fehler ist aufgetreten")

Hi all,

I’m new to Cryptomator, installed it on two Windows Desktop computers and my Android smartphone. While everything works fine on Windows, when I try to open files in my vaults in the Android App, I get the (German) error message “Ein Fehler ist aufgetreten” (“An error occured”).

This is what I did:

• Installed latest version from Google Play Store (Cryptomator 1.7.5).
  • Added two vaults from OneDrive (which I created on my desktop) by picking the corresponding master keys.
  • Opened the vaults in the app, browse folders and files.
  • Now, when I try to open a file, I get the error message mentioned above. I tried dozens of files. Strangely, I could access two .xlsx and a .txt file, but these are rare exceptions. I got errors with all others (including all jpgs an pdfs I tested).

Is this a known issue? Any idea what might be causing this and what I could do to solve it?

Any help will be much appreciated!

Thanks,
Nina

Hey and welcome to the Cryptomator Community :slightly_smiling_face:,

Not I’m aware of. Can you please enable debug mode, reproduce the problem and send us the log file? How do I enable debug mode on Android?

Thank you :slight_smile:

Hey SailReal,

thanks a lot for your quick response and for looking into this! I sent the log file a minute ago. For reproducing the bug, I tried to open a number of files which failed again, plus a txt file that could be opened fine. Please let me know if you need anything else!

Thanks,
Nina

Wow that looks very strange :thinking:, the good but also bad thing is, I have never seen this error message before, will have to do some research:

java.lang.IllegalStateException: Buffer allocated for reported output size apparently not big enough.
	at org.cryptomator.cryptolib.v2.FileContentCryptorImpl.decryptChunk(FileContentCryptorImpl.java:146)
	at org.cryptomator.cryptolib.v2.FileContentCryptorImpl.decryptChunk(FileContentCryptorImpl.java:95)