Can I access the encrypted data from another PC?

Hello, I am new to the cryptomator, just installed it yesterday, so excuse me if I am question seems silly.
I have installed it on laptop and created a vault to on my google drive, my doubt is, what if I have to access the vault from another pc, will I able to do it??

Also I just checked by unistalling the app fully and installing it again, but when I installed and tried to access the vault, I just got a blue screen on my laptop but within few secs it restarted, so I got worried a bit if it’s gonna affect my files or pc in any way in future. So please clarify me on this as well.

Thank you.

Welcome to the Cryptomator Community :slightly_smiling_face:

Yes, as long as the other pc has also access to your google drive and Cryptomator is installed.

That sounds like you are using an outdated third party driver (aka Dokany). During install, did you also installed Dokany? If so, what version is installed?

Oh, okay so when I install cryptomator on another pc, I need to choose ‘open existing vault’ and select the masterkey.cryptomator from the google vault folder, right?

Yes, I did select the dokany while installation and the version I see is 1.4.1.1000

That is completely correct :+1:

Okay, so basically masterkey.cryptomator file is important for every vault created, right? If that file is deleted, will I be losing my encrypted data? For instance, lets say I created a local vault on my HDD, add some files in that, but later if I remove the vault on cryptomator app and also delete the masterkey.cryptomator folder on my HDD, I will be losing that vault and my files in it, right?

That is correct, with the exception that you have saved the recovery key, then you can recover from such an scenario. So it is not a bad idea to keep an eye on the masterkey and also store the recovery key in a really safe place.

1 Like

Okay, thank you so much for clarifying me. I will try these will some test files and check myself.