Where do deleted files/directories go?

What happens to files/directories I delete from a vault? (on Linux, Ubuntu 24.04)
Normally when unencrypted files are deleted, they are logged in the Trash and in various other locations. This would be undesirable for “sensitive” files deleted from a vault.