Two folders but one set of files after renaming a single folder

I am a newbie to syncing files up to a “cloud drive” and to Cryptomator so please bear with me if this turns out to be a, yeah don’t do that, kind of issue.

I am on a Windows 10 machine. I am using Amazon Drive as my cloud service and have the latest version of their application installed and a folder identified on my desktop as the target to sync to.

I installed Cryptomator Version 1.3.1 and created a Vault within the Amazon Drive Sync Directory. I then created a new folder within the Cryptomator drive presented to me but I neglected to actually name it something other than the Windows default of, “New folder”.

I proceeded to copy a bunch of test files of various sizes and their associated sub directories into the “New folder” directory. I noted the encryption and syncing were all going on as expected and I left the copy run until it was done. (probably about 20 minutes)

When I got back to the console an hour or so later, all was as expected. The “New folder” contained all of the files I had copied over and my comparison to the originals was good. When I looked at the Vault folder in the Amazon Drive Sync Folder it too looked as described in the user manual.

Here is where I apparently did something I shouldn’t have.

Having finished the exercise, I decided to rename the “New folder” directory. I right clicked “New folder” in the Cryptomator drive and selected “Rename”. I typed a new name of “Test” in at the Name Change Prompt and then I closed Cryptomator by locking the vault.

Unfortunately, I am not sure how much time there was between the folder name change and the locking of the vault. I say this as I suspect this is what led to my situation.