Problem when encrypting files with special characters in file name

Hello!

I am new to Cryptomator. I want to encrypt my files locally and to upload the encrypted files to a cloud service. As a first step, I have created a big vault where I have copied roughly 50 GB of data and 150.000 files.

When I compare the original files and the files in the vault, there are 136 files which have not been copied to the vault. To be precise: The 136 files appear on both the original directories and the vault directories. It looks like the files names are the same, but my synchronization software (I use TotalCommander) tells that the file name or the directory name differs.

What all problematic files and directories have in common: They have special characters in their names (a German “Umlaut” like ä, ö, ü, or a Slavic s with caron like š). It looks as if Cryptomator changes the encoding of the file name, so the synchronization software regards them as different file names, even if their checksum is the same.

There are thousands of files in the vault with special characters in their file name, so this happens only with very few files. It is still very annoying, because it prevents synchronization. I could delete the files in the original directories and copy the files from the Cryptomator vault. But I feel uneasy about doing this, and I would like to know why this happens.

I have started Cryptomator in debug mode, and tried copying three of the problematic files. In just 5 minutes, Cryptomator has created a log file with 37.000 lines and 4 MB size. I cannot remove all file names (sensitive information), it would be too much work. But as an example, I found the file name in the log file as “Schl𴥲ter” instead of “Schlüter”.

What can I search for in the log file?
Has someone else found this problem?