Issues with Cryptomator for DVD / Blu-Ray Data Backup

Hello everyone,

I use Win10 Pro and Cryptomator and I really like it. I’m a beginner with backups and Cryptomator. I would like to encrypt backups not only when saving them on hard-drives (which works fine), but also using optical media (single write) like DVDs or Blu-Rays for long-term data backups. I don’t need to mount them or similar, it’s okay to just check them every year if they checksums are still fine.

I experimented a lot with several attempts and I still have issue, maybe you could help me?

That’s what I did:
a) I have just regular files to backup, like documents, PDFs, images, videos. But nothing special, no file size bigger than 4 Gigabytes (most of them just a few MB up to 100 MB) or crazy deep file paths or file names.
b) I created a new vault on my hard drive, copied all the backup data in it, created checksum files for them, put them in too and then closed the vault.
c) Then I start CD Burner XP, choose UTF as a format and burned all the crypted data on a 8,5GB DVD.
d) For testing I put the finalized DVD in another computer, copied the whole vault data (still encrypted) from this DVD on the computer’s hard drive and then opened the vault from the hard-drive. When I then re-read the checksum files, they show me that about 1-3 % of the data files can’t be read because they are not there anymore, so they are missing.
e) I generally use Teracopy (which also checksums all files when copying from one folder to the other) and I also let CD Burner XP check the DVD after burning if all files are there, which is positive. But once I try to copy the files from the then re-opened vault after copying it on the hard-drive, Teracopy already makes alarm that some files are missing.

Do you have any idea where the 1-3 % of the files are going?

Thanks, E