How to encrypt folders of a share from a NAS using Cryptomator? - Best practice

Hello all,

I am new to the forum and hope for your help.

I use a Synology NAS that I only access locally, i.e. in the home network, with two computers

Synology’s hardware encryption is too complicated for me (I’m a beginner).

For this reason, I would like to encrypt some folders (with the files inside) of a share using Cryptomator.

Can someone please explain to me how best to do this in practice?

I have already searched the internet and some forums …

but unfortunately I didn’t find anything that would suit me or I didn’t understand it.

Thank you very much!

(Answers also welcome in German).

Newbie picco

Hi Picco,
I am using Cryptomator features with QNAP NAS. At this point the concept does not change, the brand should have little influence. Once you have enabled the services on the NAS to be able to access via Windows or MacOS, you should see a local folder in your pc.
Open your Cryptomator application and select/choose the path of your NAS folder. At this point, is so easy because you need to create a strong password and thats it.

If you do NOT see the NAS folder it is because initially cryptomator may have problems detecting an existing “network” folder. No problem.

Log out and access the NAS directly from the Cryptomator application.

Hello 7k518xmp,
thank you very much for your very quick reply.
So far I understand … but let me ask some further questions please:

If I want to access the encrypted container at the NAS later:

1. Do I have to mount the share (of the NAS) first or is it possible to directly mount the container instead?
  2. In case I want to access the container with the iOS/ipadOS app, the only way seems to be using WebDAV … so I think I have to activate the WebDAV Server on my NAS, too. - right?

(I am working with macOS and iOS/ipadOS)

Thank you :slight_smile:
picco

Hi Picco,