File Backup Process for Synching files before upload to the Cloud

I am using PolarBackup as my cloud storage. I am using them for the fist time as they offer large space for very few dollars. While I performed some initial tests and I did not notice any issues with uploading files to the storage nor any issues with downloaded them and performing a compare, I decided to upload my daily files from my backup and then download again to compare to ensure everything was stored OK. I got disturbing news. Some files were missing and other file sizes did not match - a very large number of files >5k.

So, I want to confirm how I keep my files in sync is not causing a problem. It does not appear to be related as the files I am missing and the others that are corrupted are not ones that I recently updated but it has caused me to question how I synch could be a culprit?

Here is what I am doing that I want to make sure it does not cause a problem. I have a “Master” HDD (hard disk drive) and a “Backup” HDD. When I need to do an update, I open the “Master” vault and copy and delete files into the open vault as I can read the files names. I close the “Master” vault and then I use FreeFileSync to synch the files with my “Backup” vault with both vaults closed. I am assuming that the only difference in the files is that they are encrypted. Logically it compares the date\time stamp and if the encrypted file needs updated t replaces that folder\file with the update file from my “Master.” The “Backup” drive then synch’s with PolarBackup,

The key question is it ok to synch with the vaults closed? Or do I have to always open the vaults before performing synch on the encrypted files and then close the vaults?

I am on v 1.4.

Yes and no.
In fact it should not matter if the vault is open or closed when you copy the encrypted vault files to your backup location.