today I made a stupid mistake and accidentally deleted my vault. It is syncing with my cloud account so the files got deleted there too, but I was able to restore them.
My only problem is, that the files are in the trash (in my cloud account) without the folder structure, the folder structure is still on my PC.
Basically I have all the encrypted files and empty folders on my PC now, is there some way I can restore my files?
To do this, you need to prepare a directory to resemble a vault structure. While the directories may be lost, you can use arbitrary names, as long as they match the expected length (2 characters and 30 characters) and pattern (a-z2-8):
Thank you so much it worked! Had to play around with file extensions for a while cause they were lost too but I got my files back! Will make backups in the future.
Also thank you for updating the sanitizer!
Do you have a bitcoin address where I could send you a tip? Or should I just send it to the address on the cryptomator homepage?
Great, working well indeed. Since I’m here I’ve got a bunch of orphaned filed from the report. What does that mean exactly? Can I get rid of them, or force some kind of ‘resync’ of the WebDAV device?
Thanks again .
At first, I though we could create a comprehensive list of detectable problems of Sanitizer. Basically, making of human-readable list of the integrity check. But that’s quite a lot of effort.
What orphan message are you getting exactly? There are OrphanDirectory and OrphanMFile afaik. If my guess is right that you meant “files”, it should be OrphanMFile. In that case, this is indeed “normal” (that’s why it’s just an INFO).
If you create a file or folder with a very long name, it’s getting shortened (see name shortening in security architecture). The folder m (stands for metadata) currently only contains shortened file/folder names. If you rename/move/delete a file/folder with a long name, the corresponding metadata file won’t get deleted. That’s why some metadata files can get orphaned over time. If your vault is fully(!) synchronized, it’s safe to delete orphaned metadata files. You can actually use Sanitizer to do that by adding the --solve OrphanMFile parameter.
I can’t find the discussion anymore but there was a time when it was necessary not to delete metadata files. If I’m not mistaken, due to some changes in the encryption scheme, we actually can safely delete metadata files now. Would have to discuss this with the others if that’s an improvement that we could make in a future version.
It worked like a charm, and yes I was indeed talking about files, sorry about that. Don’t have enough words to tell you how much I do appreciate your work, I’ve always been interested in encryption but only lately I’ve actually started learning the basics behind it. Would love to dig further both from a mathematical and practical point of view.